Writing today

Also, I wanted to pass along this note on writing today. I find an interesting note here about teachers thinking on a “practical and pedagogical level” about how writing looks/works/happens today. To be honest, I don’t feel everyone out there thinks about things like this; I’m not seeing it. Writing is a 5-paragraph essay that happens 3xs during the semester. Thus, once again why at times I feel like the “other” in this big teaching world I have found myself in. HOWEVER, conversations like the one highlighted in the link are little gems that keep my hope alive that maybe I won’t feel like the “other” teacher forever…

(Once again, it’s not about replacing traditional goals, but complimenting them with 21st century/new literacy “tools” to engage/challenge our students and help them make real world connections.)

Leave a comment