I’m back!!!

That’s right, folks, I’m back! (Did I really just say “folks?” HA, nothing wrong with that don’t get me wrong, but a long story behind why it’s funny I actually said folks…but I digress…)

So, I’ve graduated! Two masters in two years (added to two bachelors).  And yes, since many have asked, two masters = 36*2 = 72 hours…no shortcuts, it’s the real deal! It’s so weird to think that I’m done (for now). I almost don’t know what to do with myself. Well, actually, I’ve been super busy since graduation, but you know what I mean. It’s like it hit me while I was sitting through my ceremony…education has been such a MAJOR factor in my life…no wonder my passion lies within teaching and trying to make a difference.

What’s been going on since graduation that has me neglecting my blog? ROAD TRIPS and INTERVIEWS! (Oh, and a new puppy :-)) I have been traveling around everywhere it seems. Have lots of decisions to make in the near future which is both exciting and overwhelming in a way.

It just hit me that no matter what setting I have applied to (i.e. inner city vs. country, public vs. private), I am being geared towards working with advanced, AP type classes. This surprises me though doesn’t surprise many that I have talked to about my future plans. I mean as we all know, new teachers aren’t always given the “luxury” of working with advanced, dual enrollment, AP classes. And yet here I come in and that’s what people want me to teach. It seemed really weird at first, not going to lie, because I just assumed I would be teaching “struggling” students. In the end, I feel confident that I can handle ANY level of students in ANY setting. After all, I really just want to teach! And it does make me feel “good” that my hard work (i.e. 4 degrees) has truly paid off as schools all over are confident in my teaching potential as well!

Well, I’ll be on the road again with interviews mixed in the next few weeks, BUT have no fear…the Blogging Queen isn’t going anywhere 🙂 I’ve got lots of drafts, ideas, notes, RSS feeds overflowing that will be posted ASAP!

Oh, and before I forget…something I thought was interesting as well…I was defined as a more “scholarly-type” reader vs. pleasure reader. I’m not sure what the difference is but on an interview someone pointed that out because all of my forthcoming “readings” were literacy/scholar based. I’m not sure what that says about me, haha! I really like to read everything, but it is true…my reading schedule consists of lots of research and “scholarly” articles on reading, writing, literacy, etc. with some adolescent literature mixed in as well. Which reminds me, maybe I should create an actual reading list…hmmm….

Leave a Reply

