“The Greatest Threat”

I realized what IT was. It being the atmosphere I have talked about so much before, but most recently during this post. IT is known as “The Greatest Threat” according to Harry and Rosemary Wong in their book The First Days of School: How to be an Effective Teacher. IT is what I have learned to overcome so that I can continue learning, growing, and becoming the best teacher I can possibly be.

Wong and Wong state:

The greatest threat to a teacher who is not growing is a teacher who is growing. The stagnating teacher will do everything to discourage and prevent you from growing because your growth is perceived as a threat.

They go on to talk about how the “stagnating teacher” is one who doesn’t believe in PD opportunities nor participates in these opportunities…is a teacher who constantly complains and makes excuses.

And there you have it. After reading this blurb from the book, I realized that for some, I am a “threat.” And perhaps, I have realized this point before as I have stated here or here. I have to remember this point (especially when working with educators on technology “stuff” to supplement their classroom pedagogy). I have to remember this point because I must never let ANYONE deter me from growing and learning and becoming the educator I aspire to be.

With all this in mind, I feel that my “new teaching home” is a place where I will (and have already) started to grown, learn, and even become a leader…and the best part about all of it is that my colleagues view me as just that: a colleague. I am so fortunate because I have people (at my school AND in my network of “experts”) who are willing to believe in me and let me “try out” new ideas in my room, who are willing to work with me, learn from me, and let me learn from them. I have opportunities for integrating technology into the classroom. I have opportunities to do cross-disciplinary work. I have opportunities to introduce my students to a variety of literature. I have opportunities! And this is a GREAT feeling for a “new” teacher.

Leave a Reply

