When it rains, it pours

No, I haven’t been a “slacker,” but for those of you who don’t know…my entire home flooded last week and life has been a bit crazy since then…hence why my blog posts are non-existent right now.  I actually JUST got internet at my new apartment today (YES!), and though I had email access at school, I have just been trying to keep my head above water (literally and metaphorically, ha).

Lots was salvaged, lots still *drying,* lots was lost…and the many things that were lost can’t be replaced by insurance or going to the store. It is devastating. And being a book lover, it has definitely been sad to see tons of  my books ruined (sigh).

In the end, though, I am very thankful and fortunate. Once again, I cannot stress enough how amazing it is to work at the school I am in as students, families, and colleagues opened their hearts and homes to me (not to mention that my family is over 10 hours away…and they made the trip down to help me regroup which I am very thankful for as well!). I was overwhelmed by the support and again, just so thankful…

BUT the point of this post is not to dwell and be sad…I’ve done enough of that and I will probably be sad for some time. The point is that I want to look back and remember 1) the support I have received from a wonderful school family (not to mention how great my family is!) and 2) the strength I never knew I had to balance both my personal life and school. I never really thought about traumatic events altering my “personal” life in a way that would affect my teaching. We always talk about balancing our personal lives with our daily school routines, but what does one do in this situation? I’m not really sure…but if I say so myself, I think I’ve handled it as best I can…focusing on school during school and the clean-up before and after. It hasn’t been easy…but I’m taking it a day at a time…

Anyway, next up: LOTS to catch up on! From student blogs, to tablet pcs, to many more *things* — be on the look-out!  🙂

Leave a Reply

