The end is near…

…of the end of first semester. My very first “real” semester that is. I can’t believe how quickly this semester has gone by. Just a few months ago I was narrowing down my potential list of teaching jobs. And now here I am…at a school I love, doing what I love:  teaching.

I’ll include my top ten thoughts on this semester in a few days after I give my finals (all on Wednesday), turn my grades in (all by Thursday), pack and head to spend my holiday break with a graduation celebration and my family (as in arriving with them at some point Thursday night). Did I mention how long I’ll be on the road? HA! I’ll just leave it at that 🙂

However, here are a few notes I’ve deciphered from my sticky notes:

  • I know I’ve mentioned it before, but sometimes students get so frustrated at you because you won’t give them the easy answer. (In other words, I make them “think.”) I never realized how much resistance some kids have to this idea…I know I can’t be the only one out there facing this type of resistance, right?
  • Something I’ve always done with every class/group of students I’ve worked with is write one thing they really liked and one thing they really didn’t like over the course of the semester. I encourage them to be completely honest (they don’t have to put their names) because I greatly value what they have to say. Though I had a range of responses there were several similar trends including the following: many LOVED the book trailer projects, many HATED grammar, many wanted more flexibility with turning in assignments late (because I do not accept late work — this response was actually only dominant in one of my classes), and many appreciated all of the hands-on “stuff” we do to keep English class engaging.
  • With finals around the corner, I thought it was cool that students were talking about using Quizlet. As in creating a quiz and sharing it with the class (particularly with vocabulary).
  • Kids are kids no matter where you teach.
  • And last but not least…I love teaching.

And on that note, I wish everyone the best as he/she heads into the homestretch!

Leave a Reply

