Book Talk: The Hunger Games

I found a great review on this book I am posting here (thanks to Rachel of Progressively Unnecessary). She gave it a 5 out of 5, and I’d have to say I’m doing the same.

Funny thing about this book is that I read it because a colleague said it would be the “next big thing.” What I didn’t realize going in (and what my dear friend failed to inform me) is that it is part of a series. And generally speaking, I am NOT a series kinda reader until ALL of the books are out. (As in I have to read them all, one after another…not months later!) So I jumped on the sequel and am now anxiously waiting to pick up the 3rd book (which is released today!).

For those of you who may be questioning age/grade appropriate level for using the book in the classroom, please check out this recent ECN discussion. This is a summer reading requirement for our freshmen, and I’ve found it to be a popular book to include with dystopian themes as well.

One thought on “Book Talk: The Hunger Games

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I can’t wait to read the sequel. I think it’s worth of the distinction of being first ebook I purchase for my new eReader. đŸ™‚ I LOVE that your school has it as a reading requirement!

    p.s. Thanks for the trackback!

    p.p.s Thanks for the link about dystopian themes in YA Lit. It answered a question I’d had about Stead’s book and its setting!

Leave a Reply

