R-E-S-P-E-C-T

I came across this post on respect in the classroom. Loved it. Each of the ten components are dead on and important for all educators to consider. Definitely check it out; it’s worth the read and worth taking the time to think about how respect plays out within your own classroom.

For me, respect is the foundation for everything we do within the classroom. I have found that kids feel they have to respect teachers because well, we are the teachers. I try to tell them it’s more than that. We do need to model to our students what respect looks like and remind them we respect them, too. After all, if one piece within the classroom is not in place, it really throws off the learning environment.

And, though I may seem “tough,” I’m always reminded back to examples where kids saw the bigger picture to all we were doing and truly saw that respect is key.

p.s. speaking of being legit, I have some things to share about previous students and what they’ve said since they’ve started their college journeys. very humbled (& proud of myself, not gonna lie!). be on the look out…

Leave a Reply

