Book Talk: The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak proved to be a very powerful read for me. Zusak’s ability to write through Death’s point of view was really a unique take on an event that changed the world forever.

For me, I think the point of view is what made this novel really moving for me. It’s hard for me to talk about it without giving too much away (do you ever have that problem, too?), but basically Death tells the story of Liesel Meminger, a young girl who lived through the experience of WWII. Liesel’s story reminded me of the power of books and reading…and more importantly how so many of us forget that reading is a privilege.

I’m going back through the novel now to look at possible excerpts to include with my sophomores when we read Night. Though I know some of my students have already read The Book Thief, I still think it would be interesting to read a variety of excerpts highlighting the various point of views and effects the war had on people.

Leave a Reply

