Book Talk: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

My first official “complete” ebook read proved to be a thriller. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson had me craving more and more as I, too, wanted to find out what happened to Harriett.

To be honest, the story did start off a bit slow for me, but I think it’s because as a reader I wasn’t expecting/paying attention to all of the quick jumps in characters at the beginning. However, once I got a grasp of who was who, Larsson’s work quickly had me pulled into the mysterious Vanger family right along with Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander (the stories main characters).

The details are carefully tucked into every twist and turn in this mystery thriller, however, I do feel it important to note that there are several strong sexual and violent references throughout the novel. I think to my students and know that some would handle the mature content, but I might be hesitant to hand out to some. (Though, then again, many of our students are already reading and watching and playing (video games) many strongly graphic things themselves.)

Perhaps for me, the most interesting thing about Larsson’s work is that the character, Lisbeth, was created after a personal experience he had as a teenager, which is something I discovered after reading the novel. A reminder that powerful experiences can lead to powerful creations, movements, acknowledgments, etc.

[note: the movie and other two novels in Larsson’s trilogy]

2 thoughts on “Book Talk: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  1. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I just finished it actually. I plan on starting the next ASAP! Have you seen the movie version yet? I’m skeptical but really want to check it out. Let me know if you have seen it already!

    Miss you!

    • Just finished the final one…review to come;)

      I did watch the movie via Netflix (and it’s all in Swedish w/ scripts on the bottom but it wasn’t hard to follow). As usual, book was definitely better for me just because of the plot development/anticipation that comes up which the movie obviously can’t always get across.

      Hope you are doing well! Miss you too!

Leave a Reply

