Just Keep Swimming

I feel like I have been going 90 miles/hour without stopping…even coming off of our winter break. (Speaking of winter break, SO thankful for the opportunity to do our remote school during all of the ice days so that we could still have it!) So tonight I’m reminding myself that it’s important to take time for me — and I need to do more reading/writing for ME! πŸ™‚ (note: continuing Wuthering Heights on the iPad while on the elliptical has been taking care of some of these things! realized it’s a great way to keep up with training for my races and to enjoy some “down time” reading.)

Anyway, here’s a quick rundown of some of the upcoming BIG projects on the to-do list:

  • Blended class: Working on creating a face time/online class for next year for English which will ideally lead up to an American Studies course in a year or two (hopefully!). Really excited to have the opportunity to work with one of my colleagues and to utilize our school’s resources to create this online learning realm. (note: Any good examples of blended classes out there? Please let me know! So far, this is one of the great ones I’ve tracked down.)
  • TED Talks: I’m really looking forward to incorporating these talks into the classroom. I can think of so many ways to use these. Right now, as my Honors 10th graders are leading up to their research essay, they are responsible for one worldly current event each week. I’m thinking these talks might provide yet another way to get them thinking about worldly issues that they could ideally use as a topic for their research projects.
  • Curriculum makeover: My former dept head and I started discussing how we could revisit our curriculum last year and it’s something I am trying to piece together bit by bit. Looking for exemplar ideas out there that other schools have found success with. Our basic foundation will still include 9th – genre focus, 10th – world lit, 11th – American lit, and 12th British lit.
  • Articles/Packets/PD/Videos: only a “few” things I have on my plate to put together in the next few weeks as well.

This list definitely continues on, however, I’ve got to get on Wuthering Heights and marathon training right now! (Not to mention pack for tomorrow’s 3.5 hour bus ride for our soccer games tomorrow!) And even though there never seems to be enough hours in the day lately, I have to remember to “just keep swimming!” (After all, nothing feels better than marking more and more off that to-do list, right? πŸ™‚ )

2 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming

  1. I don’t know if your school year is organized by quarters, but third quarter seems to be the most intense. Good luck with your projects. They all look worthwhile, and I’m eager to see how they work out.

    • No quarter system, but intense nonetheless! Keep your fingers crossed they all turn out ok! πŸ™‚ (AND I forgot to throw in our school’s first writing week [across all divisions so K-12]).

Leave a Reply

