Hey! What’s that book?

I think having an independent reading component in the classroom is imperative to creating a reading environment where everyone can find something that best fits his/her own “style.” We share our IR books through book trailers, and it’s been neat to see how kids have creatively put in their analysis through different components within their trailers…not to mention how they have given their peers some titles to check out as well.

Anyway, as we were headed out for spring break, I caught a glimpse of one of my advisee’s books she was carrying with her. It was Sara Gruen’s novel Water for Elephants. I think I surprised her by my enthusiasm at her book selection, and she responded, “Yeah, it’s pretty cool so far. You should check it out.”

Then it hit me…what AM I reading right now? I remember awhile ago when my kids asked me this very question, and realized it was time for me to add onto my goodreads shelf (which by the way, I really need to jump on board with because my bookshelf does NOT represent all that I have read/am reading by any means, ha!). So, at the suggestion of my advisee, I’m checking out Gruen’s novel and have been enjoying it thus far quite a bit! Also, on top of a myriad of other articles I’m catching up with from EJ and CCC, I am also re-reading Wuthering Heights. Man, I forgot how much I loved this book!

Be on the look out for another Book Talk soon!

 

Leave a Reply

