Poem in Your Pocket Day

Today is Poem in Your Pocket Day which ties into National Poetry Month.  And luckily, our first annual Writers’ Week coincides with all of this! Our version of Poem in Your Pocket Day (which lots of people are talking about) consisted of writing on our class blog and either 1) sharing a poem with everyone or 2) creating a poem to share with everyone.

The two poems I picked to share were by Langston Hughes and Nikki Giovanni. I picked “Dreams” because it’s a piece that has always stood out to me since the first time I heard it…we all have to have a purpose or continue to reach for a new dream.  I told my students that I always try to make myself better/learn something new in some small way each and every day (because I personally believe that if I don’t, there’s no real purpose to what I do).

During my time at Virginia Tech, I was fortunate to have Giovanni as one of my professors. I chose her poem on the events of April 16th because that is a day that has forever changed me. And even though it’s been almost 4 years since those terrible events happened, I still feel like it happened yesterday…I can still feel the bitter cold of the wind of that day as I crossed the Drillfield…I can still see the reporters shoving their cameras in our faces…I can still remember being trapped on campus…I can still hear the sirens…That day still gives me chills and makes me cry.

Though I know this day will forever bring up emotions words could never describe, Giovanni’s words remind me of how powerful writing is and reinforces how truly proud I am to call myself a Hokie.

Leave a Reply

